more from
Earshift Music

Oneirology feat. Jackson Harrison

by Compass Quartet with Jackson Harrison

supported by
  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

      $12 AUD


  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    Includes unlimited streaming of Oneirology feat. Jackson Harrison via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 2 days

      $15 AUD or more 




“Compass Quartet model virtuosity, boldness of vision, chamber music delicacy, compositional accessibility, and a savvy interaction with music history and global traditions." - Michael Webb – Jazz-Planet

"The horns curl around one another in dramatic precision, or explode in joyous or sultry improvisation.” - John Shand – SMH

Compass Quartet take the compass as an analogy for pointing in multiple musical directions and choosing thrilling collaborators.

With a musically diverse jazz-classical background, the group features soprano saxophonist Christina Leonard, Earshift Music founder and alto saxophonist/composer Jeremy Rose, tenor saxophonist Matthew Ottignon and baritone saxophonist Luke Gilmour, alongside special guest award winning pianist Jackson Harrison.

Following on from their critically acclaimed 2009 debut album 'Abrazo Tango' (Tall Poppies), and Rose's APRA/MCA Art Music Award nominated Jazz Work of the Year from their 2011 album 'Ode to an Auto Rickshaw' (Earshift Music), the group now presents an intriguing collaboration with jazz pianist Jackson Harrison.

The new album Oneirology (~ study of dreams), features Rose's new suite for the ensemble Oneirology Suite, inspired by the Christopher Nolan film Inception. The work explores themes from the film in a musical context including distortions of reality, memory and the subconsciousness. Harrison also contributes his piece Charcoal Chorale to the album.

Christina Leonard - soprano saxophone
Jeremy Rose - alto saxophone
Matthew Ottignon - tenor saxophone
Luke Gilmour - baritone saxophone
Jackson Harrison - piano

Recorded, mixed and mastered by Bob Scott
Recorded at Recital Hall West, Sydney Conservatorium, 2013

Artwork by Ella Egidy


released February 7, 2013



all rights reserved